Ryedale Book Festival

Schools

KS2 Author Event - Cressida Cowell - 21st September

Meet renowned, award-winning author and the illustrator of the best-selling How to Train Your Dragon book series and find out about her latest high-adventure series The Wizard of Once.

Find out more

The Story Orchestra, Four Seasons in One Day - 21st September 2018

The musicians of Eboracum Baroque will be joined by the author and illustrator, Jess Courtney Tickle for a performance and two in interactive workshops including live music and art and craft activities.

Find out more

Poetry Day - 19th October 2018

A day celebrating the joy of performance poetry, featuring award-winning author and poet, Wes Magee.

Find out more

Past Events

KS2 Author Event, A.P. Winter - 26th January 2018

Boy Who Went MagicPupils at Rosedale Abbey Primary School will be joined by children from Gillamoor and Nawton Primary Schools for an afternoon with the author of “The Boy Who Went Magic”. Described as a “rip-roaring fantasy adventure from a new voice in middle grade” this book is perfect for fans of Eoin Colfer or Peter Bunzl’s Cogheart as it is packed full of adventure and excitement in richly imagined land.
A.P. Winter’s enthusiasm for his craft will entertain and inspire the listening children whom he will then encourage to have a go at creating their own imaginary worlds.

KS2 Poetry Day - 6th October

A full day of poetry for KS2 children including a workshop with Mandy Coe and the Grand Final of the P-Factor 2017. Exclusive to Primary Schools in Ryedale, North Yorkshire.

 

Find out more

Sponsored by Lowfield Garage. Lowfield-Logo_sml

KS2 Author Event - Lauren Child - 22nd September

Blink_Lauren_Child

A chance to listen to Lauren Child talk about her passion for writing and illustration children’s books and to find out more about her books for older readers; Clarice Bean and Ruby Redfort.

Find out more

NEW-If-logoSponsored by If.   

EYFS and KS1 - Children's Theatre - 22nd September

On the morning of Friday 22nd September, we proudly present Theatre Fideri Fidera and their play, Oskar’s Amazing Adventure. This is a tale of a puppy’s search for friendship in the wilderness of the Alps with storytelling, physical theatre, puppetry music, song and even close up magic.

Find out more

KS2 Author event - David Almond – 10th May

Angelino BrownDavid Almond, the acclaimed author of many award-winning novels for children such as Skellig, Wilderness, and My Name is Mina brought his latest book to Ryedale to the delight of children at Norton CP School, who had just enjoyed reading Skellig in class. The Tale of Angelino Brown has been described as a “charming, profound and very funny” story about a bus driver who discovers an angel in the top pocket of his shirt. David entertained and inspired the children and encouraged them to appreciate that it is sometimes the most ordinary aspects of our lives that make the most fantastic stories.

 

KS4 Event - Gemma Cairney - 13th March

‘OPEN: A Toolkit for How Magic and Messed Up Life Can Be’ is a colourful guide to life for young adults from TV and radio personality, journalist and teen ambassador Gemma Cairney, who took Ryedale School by storm earlier this year. Full of honest advice about the big, bad and beautiful things that growing up is all about: from mental health to families to first love, and everything in between.

20170313_122023_resized_1[69110]